Special Events

Hearts of the Community

Hearts of the Community

The Hearts of the Community is offered to individuals and organizations that have served Sacred Heart Academy and the greater community. Recipients exemplify the spirit of community, compassion, and commitment. Awards are presented during a Mass of Celebration during the First Friday Liturgy in February.

Jamie Elizabeth Coady '94

Sacred Heart Academy enthusiastically presents the 2018 Hearts of the Community Award to Jamie Elizabeth Coady '94, honoring this passionate and vibrant woman who has unselfishly used her abilities and gifts to impact the lives of hundreds of young children and give back to the community and her alma mater.

Assistant principal of John S. Martinez School in New Haven, Jamie enthusiastically serves as a highly skilled instructional leader with a strong commitment to the academic and social development of her students. Her keen ability to partner with students and parents, to assess needs, define preferences, and utilize specific instruction to facilitate growth and learning has taken her from the classroom to her current position. Positions held along the way include 21st Century Afterschool site coordinator, summer school building leader, Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS) school-wide coach, teacher facilitator, and administrative intern.

“I always wanted to have a positive impact on the lives of others. As a child, I wanted to be a teacher. In college I went off path a bit; however, after some reflection and really hearing what God was calling me to do, I returned to my childhood dream. Now I combine my leadership skills with my desire to serve children and give back to the community. I truly take each day as an opportunity to influence the lives of children; to be a positive role model and to provide a safe space in which my students can develop both their emotional and academic intelligence.”

Jamie earned the following degrees from Southern Connecticut State University: Bachelor of Science in Political Science (1998), Master of Science in Urban Studies (2001), Teacher Certification in Elementary Education (2004), and a Sixth Year in Educational Leadership (2009).

In addition to serving the Sacred Heart Academy Alumnae Association as recording secretary (2012 to 2014) and president (2014 to 2016), Jamie simultaneously volunteered as recording secretary, vice president, and president of the East Haven Sons and Daughters of Italy.

Notable achievements include New Haven Public Schools TAPS Award nominee (2016), University Leadership Award, Connecticut General Assembly Deputy Majority Leader legislative intern, and appointment to the Connecticut State University Board of Trustees.

Jamie’s advice to current students…“Follow your heart as you go through life. Sometimes the journey won’t be as smooth as you anticipate, and you might make mistakes and find yourself doing things you never intended. That’s when you reach down inside and find the faith and determination that was developed here at Sacred Heart. You will find the path you are meant to be on, because, after all, you are an Excelsior woman!”

    • Hearts of the Community Mass of Celebration - February 3, 2018
Jamie Elizabeth Coady ’94

Barbara Tracchio Romano’61

Gerri Pawlak Malloy ’74
Valerie Fasano Mirabella

Thomas & Phyllis Giglietti
Mariette B. Moan
Kelly O’Leary ’99

Knights of Columbus
Mary Jane Maturo
Kerry Robinson
Roger & Linda Sciascia
Reverend James Shanley
Sr. Mary Anne Sharron, ASCJ, ’64

Margaret Falsey Brillante ’72
Francis X. Conlon II
Christine Kipphut Furstoss ’82
The Hillhouse Scholars
Sr. Ritamary Schulz, ASCJ, ’59
Frank Vollero
Anthony E. Cantore
Kimberly Cramer Curbow ’81
Dominic & Mary Federico
Richard Gagliardi
Michael Mazzariello

Rev. Robert L. Beloin
Judge Ellen Bree Burns
Eugene W. Harris
Carolyn Morrell Kosack M.D.,’70
James O. Walsh, Esq.
Lorraine Lupoli Wihbey ’70

Wesley D. Bonds, Jr., Ph.D.
Lawrence J. De Nardis, Ph.D.
Deborah DeWitt Frattini ’66
Frances B. Granquist, Esq., ’80
Reverend Lawrence Symolon
Jeanne H. Treanor

Sr. Ellen Cronan, ASCJ, ’58
Patricia Morrison Driedger ’79
Marion Lee
Julia M. McNamara, Ph.D.
The Most Reverend Peter A. Rosazza, D.D.
Joan E. Venditto, Ph.D., ’59

Marie D. Colasanto
Sr. Ernestine Desiderio, ASCJ
Rosemary Iovene DiMugno ’74
Maria Asis-Gilbride, M.D., ’81
Vincent Labonia, Jr.
Charles B. Rose

Joseph Barba, Jr.
Mary Jane Burt ’72
Dorothy Fiorillo Farrell ’50
Jean Leary
Joseph C. Lee, Esq.
Sr. Mary Nicoletta Petillo, ASCJ

Sr. Ursula Bongiovanni, ASCJ
Louis A. Follis
Mary Galvin, Esq., ’67
E. William Iovanne
Sr. Gabriel McClain, ASCJ
Joyce Pellegrino ’66
Fax | 203-230-9680
Educating Young Women in the Catholic Tradition since 1946